The Association presented the awards at Grand View University, Des Moines on February 2, 2019.

The Asian-American Leadership Award

Andrew Yang, New York Entrepreneur, Founder of Venture for America, and a 2020 Democratic presidential candidate

This award recognizes the accomplishments and achievements of Asian-Americans in our nation who have made distinguished contributions in politics, public services, trades, business, entrepreneurship, community, education, arts, media, science, technology, engineering, health, and youth mentoring, whether locally, nationally, and/or internationally.

Outstanding Achievement Award for Advising on Youth, Professional, Social, Cultural, and Business Development

Joseph Cassis, Director of Operations, Ten Square International, Inc.

The award is based on recommendations provided by lowa international community members, cultural and business leaders as well as students for a person's or an organization's outstanding performance in the following areas: mastery of advising process, availability to community members, business executives, cultural leaders, professionals, and students; effectiveness and creativity; impact on community members, business executives, cultural leaders, professionals, and students; growth in advising responsibility; appropriate referral activities; mastery of institutional regulations, policies and procedures; and performing advising with integrity and dedication. The award recognizes overall effectiveness in advising with community members, business executives, cultural leaders, professionals, and students as well as individual professional goal-setting, career planning and personal counseling.

The Corporate Leadership Award

Mike Gerrish, Vice President, Corporate and Marketing Communications, Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield

This award is dedicated to celebrating and recognizing corporations or individuals in the corporate sector who exemplify not only excellence in their profession, but also leadership and commitment in their respective communities, and to the existing corporate culture of diversity initiatives.

The Leadership in Diversity Award

Catherine Tyson, Albaugh LLC

Dallas Center-Grimes Middle School

KCCI 8 News

This award recognizes individuals and organizations that demonstrate outstanding creativity, commitment and effectiveness in promoting diversity in the State of Iowa.

The International Business Leadership Award

- Feng Xue, Asian American News Bureau
- Patsy Tobis, West Des Moines
- Xueting Yan, Jingshi Law Firm

This award honors an outstanding business executive or visionary business leader whose accomplishments and professional contributions to the international business community are recognized as motivational, inspirational, and transformational.

The Community Leadership Award

- Ben Jung, Immigrant Entrepreneurs Summit
- Bin Huang, United Chinese American
- Doua Lor, Sergeant/Asian Outreach Resource Officer, Des Moines Police Department
- Haitao Cheng, Pastor of Chinese Ministries, Westchester Evangelical Free Church
- Prakash Kopparapu, Johnston
- Shirley Wang, Iowa City

This award honors visionary and dedicated leaders who are doing extraordinary work and addressing critical issues in the State of Iowa, the award recognizes Iowan individuals and organizations that have demonstrated excellence in leadership through deep local understanding and outstanding initiative. The award is designed to advance community-driven, innovative and sustainable solutions to critical issues facing the State of Iowa. The award honorees serve as new models to inform best practices and affirm and advance robust policies in the field.

The Community Business Award

Gerald Young, Young G's Barbeque Sauce

Heavenly Asian Cuisine & Lounge

This award is dedicated to companies that address deprivation and create sustainable, dynamic and inclusive communities. It is also for individuals whose leadership and commitment to responsible business has resulted in changes and improvements inside their own company and who have also inspired other organizations to execute appropriate actions.

Education Leadership Award

- Deb Vance, Assistant Director, International Students and Scholars Office, Scholar Advisor to Colleges of Business, Engineering, Veterinary Medicine, and ISU Administrative Departments, Iowa State University
- Shan Jiang, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Materials Science and Engineering Department, Iowa State University
- Peggy Epstein, Executive Assistant to Superintendent & School Board Secretary, West Des Moines Community Schools

The Education Leadership Award is designed to recognize the exceptional leadership of active, front-line leaders who are making a difference in the lives of students every day. Each candidate is judged on the following criteria:

- Leadership for Learning creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in her school.
- Communication strength in both personal and organizational communication.
- Professionalism constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing motivation to others on the education team.
- Community Involvement active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national, and international issues.

Non-profit Organization of the Year

- Iowa Association of Business and Industry
- Iowa Bar Association

This award is dedicated to recognize nonprofit organizations committed to strategic planning and cultivating local and/or global social, cultural, education, business, community, and youth development.

Volunteer of the Year Award

Daniel R. Arthur, Des Moines Jinsong Chen, Urbandale

Yu Liu, West Des Moines Yuyueyang Qiu, Valley High School

This award is dedicated for those who lead a life of volunteerism and making a difference in the communities in which they live and work. The nominations and selections are judged based on their involvement, impact to the organization and the value of their work to the community.

Youth Leadership Award

- Zhonghong Dai, Valley High School
- Elvira Nurmukhamedova, Grinnell College
- Chuming Wang, Dowling Catholic High School
- Ren Shu, Northeastern University
- Simon Wang, University of Ohio
- Xinyi Li, Cornell College

This award is an annual award bestowed upon a deserving youth between 15 to 30 years of age who has demonstrated involvement, commitment, and leadership in political, business, cultural, educational, and community development whether locally, nationally, and/or internationally.

Youth of the Year Award

- Renda Wang, St. Augustin Catholic School
- Le Sun, Dowling Catholic High School
- Lexi Li, Valley High School
- Qingchen Yu, Dowling Catholic High School
- Shangye Zhan, Dowling Catholic High School
- Siyuan Li, Dowling Catholic High School
- Tianci Zou, Dowling Catholic High School
- Xiangnan Yi, Dowling Catholic High School
- Yiming Huang, Dowling Catholic High School
- Yujing Zhao, Dowling Catholic High School

This award recognizes the young people who serve and make a difference in our community, they will be honored for their selfless acts and character development. Youths who are attending or have attended a high school, secondary school or equivalent standard of school in any other educational establishment and must be under 19 years of age on January 1, 2018.

The Young Artist Award

Yichen Gu

This award annually recognizes middle, high school and college students who are talented in art, music, dance, theatre, or film and emerging media. These students have been selected based on the quality of their art and a high level of excellence and creativity in their work.

